A New Introduction to the Movies

Amanda Bussman
5 min readJul 19, 2021
Now closed Showcase Cinema (instagram: cantcontroltheirfear)

The trauma that was 2020 showed itself yesterday evening.

You know when you don’t do something for a while you feel like you have to relearn it all over again? One of those things I never expected to have to relearn was how to go to the movies.

That sentence feels like a ridiculous one to me.

Who would have ever thought that going to see a film in a theater would be something new again? Before 2020, if someone had told me that would be a thing, I would have laughed. It’s exactly what’s happened though.

March 2020 was the last time I’d been to a theater. (A tip. If a local independent theater is showing The Thing, buy the tickets for Valentine’s Day. It’s worth it.) Before the chaos, my boyfriend and I practically lived at the theater.

Remember those good old MoviePass days? He and I abused those cards. (Shout out to seeing Black Panther 7 times in the theater.)

March 2020 was the last form of normal. I remember the blistering cold standing out in a very crowded line in Providence. Getting into the theater and trying to decide where the best seats were. What individuals looked like they wouldn’t have been incredibly distracting or annoying. The usual when you walked into a movie theater in the past.

--

--

Amanda Bussman

If you're looking for a writing coach and someone who is working through generational trauma, you've come to the right place. OH! I hope you like Taylor Swift!