A Tale By Dolly and James

Amanda Bussman
3 min readMay 21, 2024
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I should preface this by saying, I’m not completely familiar with James Patterson’s work. I also don’t know much when it comes to Dolly Parton. Run Rose Run was tossed into my lap because it reminded a loved one of Taylor Swift.

There is nothing about Run Rose Run by Dolly Parton and James Patterson that has anything to do with Taylor Swift. Not other than the fact that the main character is a country singer, much like Taylor was when she stepped on scene.

Patterson and Parton’s book isn’t a bad one. It held my attention more than I’d expected it to. (I’m not a country fan by any means. It’s the type of thing I stay far away from in all forms.)

If you continue reading you will come across spoilers for Dolly Parton and James Patterson’s Run Rose Run.

Your hitchhiking southern girl with a twist. That’s who AnnieLee Keyes portrays hers as right from the get-go of the novel. The girl with the beautiful voice also isn’t allowed to get her hands dirty and defend herself.

While her character is very textbook, a good girl from the wrong side of the tracks, looking to make it big on the Nashville scene. The novel still incorporates twists and turns that keep it fairly interesting.

The characters are enjoyable for the most part.

--

--

Amanda Bussman

If you're looking for a writing coach and someone who is working through generational trauma, you've come to the right place. OH! I hope you like Taylor Swift!