Creativity and Carving Time to Write

Amanda Bussman
3 min readDec 7, 2023
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

If there is one thing I hate it’s the “I don’t have time to write” excuse.

Perhaps that isn’t fair of me to say.

We all have our busy lives. I know that. Time constraints can be a complete nightmare. Many people work full-time jobs and manage families, and by the time they get home to rest creativity is depleted.

I completely understand that writing isn’t always possible.

I also know that if it’s something you love doing, then making time for it must be a priority. There are plenty of ways to carve out even 15 minutes in your day to get writing in.

Your self-expression also needs to be a priority.

Stop Making Yourself Excuses

Telling yourself you “can’t” isn’t going to get you anywhere. Words are never going to appear on the page for you. You have to be willing to take the time to write.

This can be done first thing in the morning before your thoughts are fully coherent. Or right before bed as the last soothing event before…

--

--

Amanda Bussman

If you're looking for a writing coach and someone who is working through generational trauma, you've come to the right place. OH! I hope you like Taylor Swift!