Friends of Medium and Reading Enjoyment

Amanda Bussman
3 min readDec 4, 2023
Photo by Pedro Araújo on Unsplash

Before I begin, let me say I am not yet a friend of Medium. It isn’t for lack of want. I think that the program is a wonderful idea. I simply hope that it is used in a way that benefits not only the writers but the readers alike.

Last week Medium rolled out the Friends of Medium program. Those of us who have been there basically have the gist of what the membership entails. I’m not going to rehash that. There are plenty of beautiful writers who have done a wonderful job of explaining. If you’re unclear, I would visit one of them for clarification.

The point here is what I’m hoping comes from Friends of Medium.

I hope that this won’t create a problem with people reading the things they want to read. Those who have the Friends badge still give their time to subjects that they love. They read articles they want to learn more about. That these readers focus on what makes them creatively happy by way of reading.

Reading is our best avenue to strengthen our own writing. Being aware of the people around you and the subjects that you enjoy is a huge benefit.

While many may believe that reading people’s articles is a waste of time, this isn’t the case at all. As you read you get to know others. You see little bits of their personality. You grow right alongside them.

--

--

Amanda Bussman

If you're looking for a writing coach and someone who is working through generational trauma, you've come to the right place. OH! I hope you like Taylor Swift!