It’s Time for Me to Beat 2020 Challenges

Amanda Bussman
4 min readJul 22, 2021
Photo by TheRegisti on Unsplash

It would be more adequate for me to state the past 11 years’ struggles. I figure I’ll take it with one thing at a time and start with the turbulence that 2020 provided me with. It’s time to kick those roadblocks out of my life and start persevering.

At the end of 2020, I received a fellowship for filmmaking.

If we backtrack here, in 2016, I graduated from Rhode Island College with my BA in Film Studies. A degree that I struggled to earn.

I was never a great student.

That coupled with the fact that during my 2014 fall term my father passed away posed its challenges. The day I walked across that stage I couldn’t have been more proud of myself.

Graduating wasn’t the hardest part of my journey. The hardest part is what comes after walking the stage.

Everyone says, “don’t go to school with film, you’ll get nowhere”. This isn’t true. Go to school for whatever your dreams are and then put in the work. The key to everything, as I’m seeing now 5 years later, is working at it.

I live in a small state. One where the film community is large but incredibly tiny. Like most things in Rhode Island, I guess you could say.

This means that productions come to the state and 1 of 2 things happen. Either they are…

--

--

Amanda Bussman

If you're looking for a writing coach and someone who is working through generational trauma, you've come to the right place. OH! I hope you like Taylor Swift!