I Made 8 Cents on Medium This Month

Amanda Bussman
3 min readJun 10, 2021
credit: https://pixabay.com/images/id-941246/

That may seem like a ridiculous statement over 8 cents.

To me? It’s huge.

I’m a serial checker. If I could accrue pennies from my own clicks to my stats page I’d be all set. I’d be able to pay for grad school and a house. Checking my stats page and hoping to see some change in equity or hits is always my goal.

I’m going to hope that at one point or another we’ve all been like this.

This is the reason that last month when that $0.08 showed up on my stats page from my article, WandaVision; An Intense Look At Loss and Grief, I thought I was seeing things. Turns out that $0.08 was deposited at the end of the month. In short, this is a big deal.

This is the start of something changing.

I’ve been struggling and fighting since I finished my bachelor’s degree.

My BA is in film studies.

Before you, “that’s what you get” me, let it be known that I in no way regret my degree. I don’t care to hear your, “you’re never going to make money with that” because it’s one of my great accomplishments. I’m completely proud to be a filmmaker.

Writing has always been my first passion.

Since I graduated 5 years ago I’ve been trying to figure out how to make a name for myself.

--

--

Amanda Bussman

If you're looking for a writing coach and someone who is working through generational trauma, you've come to the right place. OH! I hope you like Taylor Swift!