Lighting Felt Like Coming Home

Amanda Bussman
3 min readJul 26, 2021
Photo by Alexander Dummer on Unsplash

I promised myself accountability so here we go.

Hey there! If you’re new here, welcome. I’m going to point you to this blog where I explained a little bit of what’s going on.

For those who don’t feel like reading more, I am an aspiring filmmaker. Currently, I have the cool opportunity of completing a short film for a fellowship.

This is my journey through that.

One of my plans in this process is to document every part of it. I intend to write these blog posts as well as making youtube videos through it. This is going to be my way of keeping myself going. Perhaps it’ll also give someone out there perspective that they can handle this too.

I haven’t much touched a camera in a couple of years now. I also haven’t played with lighting.

Tonight I got the chance to play with a ring light.

After not having my hands on any sort of film equipment in years, it felt like coming home. I think I’d forgotten just how much I love toying with lighting. Seeing the change on the wall when a bounce light is added.

There is so much that can be done with lighting. If you add a gel you change the entire scene. Moments can be made darker, more dramatic, all by playing with gels. Much of the emotion conveyed in a scene relies on what type…

--

--

Amanda Bussman

If you're looking for a writing coach and someone who is working through generational trauma, you've come to the right place. OH! I hope you like Taylor Swift!